Skip to content

Easy Breakfasts During Acute Phase

September 2, 2009
When time permits eggs are a good choice for breakfast.

When time permits eggs are a good choice for breakfast.

I have never really been a breakfast person.  I can easily skip breakfast and wait until lunch to eat.  I learned, however, through Medi-Weightloss, that this is not good for losing weight.  Our bodies need breakfast to “break” the “fast” we have gone through overnight.  Our blood sugar is low and our brains and bodies need energy to get moving and thinking.  Eating a breakfast that is low glycemic will start the body’s engine and the energy it provides will last until lunchtime.

If your mornings are crazy like mine used to be when I was working, breakfast is probably the hardest meal for you, and you are tempted to eat something quick that isn’t good for you or just skip it altogether.

An important lesson you’ll learn in the Medi-Weightloss program, is how important it is to keep your blood sugar as level as possible, so DON”T SKIP breakfast.  Here are some of my favorite, easy breakfasts for the acute phase:

When time is on your side:

Salsa Eggs

Mix 1 whole egg and 1 egg white with 1 tablespoon salsa and 1/8 cup low fat cheese.  Scramble in pan sprayed with I Can’t Believe it’s Not Butter Spray or Olive Oil Spray. Add  a side of 1/2 orange or peach.

Western Omlet

Saute 2 Tbls onion and green pepper in a pan sprayed with Olive Oil Spray.  Add 1 whole egg and 1 egg white, 1/8 cup low fat cheese, and 1 tbls Imitation Bacon Bits and scramble.  Serve with a slice of canadian bacon and 1/2 cup blueberries.

Mock Potato Pancakes

Use Spaghetti Squash to replace shredded potatoes to make “Potato Pancakes”.  You can find the recipe here at the end of my article about the Medi-Weightloss Program.

Mini Quiches

Mix 3 whole eggs and 1 egg white with 1/4 cup low fat cheese. Saute  1/2 cup of your choice of  veggies in olive oil spray. Place sauted veggies  into the bottom of muffin cup and pour egg mixture on top, filling cup 2/3 full. Bake at 350 degrees until eggs are set.This should make 4  quiches.  You can make several batches ahead and grab one when you are on the go.

My Favorite Fast and Easy Breakfasts During Medi-Weightloss Acute Phase:

Medi-Weightloss Protein Bars

I love these!  They are great anytime, for any meal or snack, but especially great to eat on the way to work or school.  Each bar only has 100 calories, 2.5 g fat and 10g of protein.  My favorites are the Blueberry Pomegranate Bliss, and Chocolate Celebration Delite.

Cottage Cheese and Fruit

My favorite breakfast is cottage cheese and fruit!

Cottage Cheese is a great high protein breakfast. Pair it with your favorite low glycemic fruit!

Most mornings I eat 1/2 cup 1% cottage cheese and 1 cup fruit, usually blueberries, sliced peaches or watermelon.  I love watermelon and found out that even though it is not on the Medi-Weightloss  “allowed” food list  since it has a high glycemic number, its glycemic load is actually low due to the volume of water in melon. Read about the glycemic index and load HERE.

Low Fat, Low Carb Yogurt

Kroeger has a yogurt “Carb Master” that is both low carb and low fat and I can’t find any other brand like it!  It has 80 calories, 1.5 g fat, 3 effective carb grams, and 12 g protein.  I ate 1 container for breakfast all by itself.  It takes so good you won’t believe it!

Protein Shake

I’m not much of a protein shake person but if you are, this is a good option.  When I did have a shake for breakfast, I used vanilla and added frozen fresh strawberries and a package of Splenda.  I usually freeze strawberries if I am not eating them fast enough.  Adding them to your protein mix makes the shake frothy and delicious.

Once you reach maintenance, add some frozen strawberries and frozen banana pieces to the shake for an especially yummy shake!

Hard Boiled Eggs

This is really my least favorite breakfast, but it does work in a pinch!  Have a few ready to go.

These are my solutions for breakfast during the acute phase on the Medi-Weightloss program.  As I find other recipes that I like, I’ll add them to this blog.  I found, however, that having just a few standards worked best for me and simplified shopping and planning.

Just remember to find a few things that you like and eat them in the right portions every morning, rain or shine, and you’ll do just fine.  Get more creative for lunch or dinner when you have more time!

No comments yet

Leave a comment